Find the Full Windows Build Number with PowerShell

Much to my surprise I discovered that the full build number for a Windows OS is not stored in WMI in the usual Win32_OperatingSystem class.

In Windows 10 at least, the full build number containing the “UBR”, or essentially the CU patch level of the build, is a useful piece of information.

Open Settings > System > About on a Windows 10 box, and you’ll find the OS Build value, in my case 15063.183

W10

If I run the usual WMI query to get the build number I just get 15063:

WMI

Same if I query the environment:

DotNet

To find the full number I have to query the registry in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion branch.

So I put together a PowerShell script that can be used to get the Windows version for a local or remote computer (or group of computers) which includes the Edition, Version and full OS Build values.

Query the local system like this:


Get-WindowsVersion

Or query remote computers:


Get-WindowsVersion -ComputerName PC001


Get-WindowsVersion -ComputerName @("PC001","PC002","SRV001","SRV002")

Result:

result

The script

2 thoughts on “Find the Full Windows Build Number with PowerShell

  1. Wauw, beside your nice script, this must be the coolest .net class I’ve ever seen System.Data.DataTable Many Thanks for that, nice and easy way to create objects..I guess better than the hashtables everyone knows about to create PCCustomobjects…or which one is in your opinion more a favorite?

    1. Thanks, hashtables are perfectly cool too 🙂 I often query SQL data so I’m in the habit of using the datatable format, but it works quite well for general use too.

Leave a Reply

